About Smith Stearns

Students Win 4 Titles at VDM Classic

trent and jack vdm classicSmith Stearns students had an opportunity to play a tournament close to home when the VDM Classic was held on Hilton Head from September 13-15. Twenty two of our students competed in the local tournament and they came out with a total of four championship titles. It was a great weekend full of tennis where our students got to play in front of their coaches, friends, and other academy supporters.


Here are some of the highlights from the VDM Classic:


Trent Daly dominated the tournament taking both the singles and doubles titles in the boys 16’s division. In the finals of the singles draw he beat fellow academy student Justin Stubblefield who had a great tournament making the finals of singles and semifinals of doubles with Colten Lavery. In the doubles Trent teamed up with fellow academy student Jack Kelly to win the title. Jack also made the semifinals in the singles draw. Colten Lavery won the consolation draw beating Arthur Yeager in the finals.


adam cablikIn the boy’s 18 and under division, Adam Cablik was a finalist in both singles and doubles with Jiri Honajzer. Jiri also made the semifinals in the singles draw. Sean Sculley partnered with Nathan Perrone to win the doubles title. Peter Higgins and Alex Vanezis made the semifinals of the doubles draw.


Emmaline Smith and Addy Lavery won the girls 16’s doubles title defeating fellow academy student Alexandra Dadoly in a close match in the finals. Addy also won the consolation draw and Katie Rankin was a finalist.


Xingnan Lin was a finalist in the boys 14’s division in his first tournament while playing at the academy.


Congrats to all of our students for their success this weekend! We look forward to many more great tournaments to come!


addy emmalineFor a complete list of participants in the VDM Classic see below:


Adam Cablik

Jiri Honajzer

Jack O’Koniewski

Peter Higgins

Sean Sculley

Alex Vanezis

Trent Daly

Justin Stubblefield

Jack Kelly

Colten Lavery

Clay Baker

Owen Stovall

Arthur Yeager

Xingnan Lin

Justin Perez

Liz Williams

Mary Hampton McNeal

Katie Rankin

Addy Lavery

Alexandra Dadoly

Emmaline Smith

Samantha Kriney



« Back to News